2017 End of the Year Bookish Survey

For my first official post on this blog, I thought I would look back on my reading for the last year and what better way to do that than a survey? This survey was created by the wonderful Jamie from The Perpetual Page-Turner.

Full disclosure: I’ve read a lot of books this year, a lot of which were wonderful, and I am indecisive as hell, so expect a lot of multiple answers because this is my blog and I do what I want.

reading-stats-2017-1024x278-768x209

Number Of Books You Read: 209
Number of Re-Reads: 13 – all but one to continue with a series because I have a terrible memory.
Genre You Read The Most From: This was really close between contemporary and fantasy, but I read a couple more fantasy than contemp!

best-YA-books-2014-900x244

1. Best Book You Read In 2017?
Okay, I’m the most indecisive person in the world so when I made my Best of lists I divided them into seven categories, so I’m sharing six of those now:

Romcom: The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli.
Contemporary: The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas.
Retelling: Girls Made of Snow and Glass by Melissa Bashardoust.
Scifi: Into the Drowning Deep by Mira Grant.
Romance: Act Like It by Lucy Parker.
Fantasy: Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor.

If you want to see my other choices, check out my instagram! I’ll be posting on my tumblr too, eventually.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?
I have four books that fit this category, unfortunately:
Daughter of the Burning City by Amanda Foody, which just didn’t work for me conceptually; Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller, which felt very juvenile; Caraval by Stephanie Garber, which I ended up kinda hating; and The Valiant by Lesley Livingston, which I liked, but I felt like it never reached its full potential.

3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?
Little Monsters by Kara Thomas! I didn’t enjoy Kara Thomas’ debut, The Darkest Corners, but I thought this one sounded interesting so I decided to give her a second chance and I ended up really liking it.
The Scorpion Rules by Erin Bow was also surprising, as I went into it with basically no expectations and it ended up being really amazing. It’s the book about goats and sarcastic AI you never knew you needed and everyone should read it.
Reign the Earth by A. C. Gaughen – I went in with no expectations and this one really blew me away. I loved it so much.

4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?
So I always recommend The Lumatere Chronicles by Melina Marchetta, Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo, and The Queen’s Thief series by Megan Whalen Turner. Those are just my standard recs because they’re some of my faves.
I pushed a few friends to read The Hate U Give, the Wayward Children series by Seanan McGuire, Act Like It, and This Mortal Coil by Emily Suvada.
At the library where I work I shoved The Hate U Give, This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab, Miles Morales by Jason Reynolds, and Scythe by Neal Shusterman into a lot of hands.

5. Best series you started in 2017? Best Sequel of 2017? Best Series Ender of 2017?
Starter: Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray/Warcross by Marie Lu/Want by Cindy Pon.
Sequel: A Darkness Absolute by Kelley Armstrong/Thick as Thieves by Megan Whalen Turner (I still can’t believe we FINALLY got the next book in the Queen’s Thief series I NEED THE NEXT ONE, ASAP).
Ender: A Conjuring of Light by V. E. Schwab. I thought it was a really lovely conclusion that didn’t tie everything up perfectly.
I was pretty bad at reading series/sequels this year, so I’m just glad I have some answers for these!

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2017?
Lucy Parker – she writes these adorable romances, Act Like It and Pretty Face, and I read the two of them one right after another and immediately wanted to reread them. I’m gonna read anything she writes now, for sure.

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?
This definitely has to go to Into the Drowning Deep by Mira Grant. I don’t normally read a lot of scifi and I definitely don’t read adult scifi, but omg, THIS BOOK. It was so good. MURDEROUS MERMAIDS.

8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?
This is a hard one because I normally just read books in one sitting anyway, but these books I felt like I couldn’t put them down once I started:
Six Wakes by Mur Lafferty, Invictus by Ryan Graudin, and Unearthed by Meagan Spooner and Amie Kaufman.
…..aaaaaand I just said I don’t read a lot of scifi and look at that, an answer entirely devoted to scifi.

9. Book You Read In 2017 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?
Defy the Stars, Rosemarked by Livia Blackburne, basically any book that has a sequel in 2018 especially if it’s a duology.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2017?
SO MANY BEAUTIFUL COVERS THIS YEAR.
Wild Beauty by Anna-Marie McLemore, Reign the Earth by A. C. Gaughen, An Enchantment of Ravens by Margaret Rogerson, Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab, and The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco. Special shoutout to This Mortal Coil for making me go HOLY SHIT after I read the first chapter.

11. Most memorable character of 2017?
Lazlo Strange from Strange the Dreamer, my son.

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2017?
Unsurprisingly I can’t pick just one: Wild Beauty, Strange the Dreamer, and Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2017?
They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera and The Hate U Give.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2017 to finally read?
I only just this year finished The Darkest Minds trilogy by Alexandra Bracken even though I read the first book when it was first published.

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2017?
idk, this is difficult, so I’m just not gonna pick anything.

16. Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2017?
Shortest: Wrath by Kara Thomas, 12 pages.
Longest: A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas, 705 pages.

17. Book That Shocked You The Most
Six Wakes and This Mortal Coil definitely made me go WTF multiple times and Thunderhead by Neal Shusterman has probably the wildest ending and idk how I’m gonna last until the next one comes out.

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!
August/Kate from Our Dark Duet, Rufus/Mateo from They Both Die at the End, Rook/Isobel from An Enchantment of Ravens, Dimple/Rishi from When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon, Estrella/Fel from Wild Beauty. I just love love, okay.

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year
The siblings from Far From the Tree by Robin Benway made my heart ache, the entire family dynamic from You Don’t Know Me but I Know You by Rebecca Barrow made my heart warm, and the sisters from You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone by Rachel Lynn Solomon broke my heart.

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2017 From An Author You’ve Read Previously
The Upside of Unrequited was absolutely adorable in every way. Strange the Dreamer, obviously. Starry Eyes by Jenn Bennett is my new favorite of hers, as well as Love, Life and the List by Kasie West.

21. Best Book You Read In 2017 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:
¯\_(ツ)_/¯

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2017?
Julian/Audrey from You Don’t Know Me but I Know You – I loved them both so much.

23. Best 2017 debut you read?
Girls Made of Snow and Glass, Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, You Don’t Know Me but I Know You, When Dimple Met Rishi, The Hate U Give. SO MANY DEBUTS. SO MANY GREAT BOOKS.

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?
Strange the Dreamer and Forest of a Thousand Lanterns.

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?
Prince in Disguise by Stephanie Kate Strohm, Love, Life, & the List, American Panda by Gloria Chao, When Dimple Met Rishi.

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2017?
Far From the Tree, You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone, The Hate U Give.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?
Not Now, Not Ever by Lily Anderson. EVERYONE GO READ THIS BOOK IT IS THE MOST DELIGHTFUL. Rosemarked by Livia Blackburne is an excellent and complicated fantasy perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes. Long May She Reign by Rhiannon Thomas is definitely the one I’ve heard the least buzz about, but it’s wonderful with a quiet, lovely heroine.

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?
They Both Die at the End, without a doubt. I cried for like 200 out of its 368 pages and my eyes were swollen from crying the next day.

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2017?
Brooding YA Hero by Carrie Ann DiRisio. Jane, Unlimited by Kristin Cashore. Genuine Fraud by E. Lockhart.

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?
Zenn Diagram by Wendy Brant made me want to scream, pretty much. Here’s my review for why.

looking-ahead-books-2015-900x244

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2017 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2018?
The Last Magician by Lisa Maxwell, Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng, The City of Brass by S. A. Chakraborty, How to Make a Wish by Ashley Herring Blake, and The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord.

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2018 (non-debut)?
Dance of Thieves by Mary E. Pearson, Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik, The Last Summer of the Garrett Girls by Jessica Spotswood, Aftermath by Kelley Armstrong, What If It’s Us by Becky Albertalli & Adam Silvera, Hidden Pieces by Paula Stokes, and Hullmetal Girls by Emily Skrutskie. You know, just to name a few.
ARCs I haven’t read yet: Undead Girl Gang by Lily Anderson, Royals by Rachel Hawkins, From Twinkle, With Love by Sandhya Menon, Girl Made of Stars by Ashley Herring Blake, Furyborn by Claire Legrand, Inkmistress by Audrey Coulthurst, Heart of Iron by Ashley Poston, and The Cheerleaders by Kara Thomas.

3. 2018 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?
Children of Blood & Bone by Tomi Adeyemi and Sea Witch by Sarah Henning.
ARCs I haven’t read yet: Sky in the Deep by Adrienne Young and To Kill a Kingdom by Alexandra Christo.

4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2018?
Obsidio by Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufman, Vengeful by V. E. Schwab, Endless Water, Starless Sky by Rosamund Hodge, A Reaper at the Gates by Sabaa Tahir, and Defy the Worlds by Claudia Gray. Plus more that I haven’t read the 2017 sequels to yet.
ARCs: Thunderhead by Neal Shusterman, The Queen of Sorrow by Sarah Beth Durst, The Heart Forger by Rin Chupeco, and More Than We Can Tell by Brigid Kemmerer.

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2018?
I wanna make this blog an actual thing, posting regularly and all that fun stuff. We’ll see how that goes.

6. A 2018 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone (if applicable):
You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone by Rachel Lynn Solomon, Reign the Earth by A. C. Gaughen, Love, Hate and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed, American Panda by Gloria Chao, Starry Eyes by Jenn Bennett, White Rabbit by Caleb Roehrig, and The Wedding Date by Jasmine Guillory. I’ve read all of these and given them 4-5 stars!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: